top of page

Darius Twin Boss Theme Remix is in progress!!

I'm feeling so PUMPED and psyched about this one that I just had to update about it! I should catch up with my favorites on NewGrounds and SoundCloud. I'm so overdue for just setting time aside for a day to do so. I've just been so sucked into all this fan fiction writing and role play writing with friends on DreamWidth for some time. Depending on which of the many fandom loves it is, it's easy to get so absorbed into all of that...

I'm not quite close to finishing this remix just yet, but so far it's been seriously amazing progress!! I can't get over how great the beats and synths are, and I've created quite a handful of that so far. I've recorded some speaking parts too, some of them by yours truly. LexaHergon, one of my buddies on NewGrounds and Skype, inspired me a little to come up with an extra part for a different voice. I'll be sure to let him know that it worked out pretty good, in addition to thanking him. :D

For the intro... When playing Darius Twin on the SNES, there's an alarm sound that goes off, followed by a message. "WARNING. A huge battleship, *insert boss ship name here*, is approaching fast." I recorded myself speaking that part, and that's going to go with the alarm noise I created on my Waspy LE VST.

This game has some great music. Search for "Darius Twin OST" on YouTube--it's all there! I have this other Darius Twin remix idea, of the music from the first level. Months ago, it came out of nowhere, and took me by surprise. I heard this keyboard jazz stuff play in my head, down tempo. I thought along the lines of, "Oh my God... YES!" I think that would be so fun and fantastic to do! I'm positive that this will amaze everyone, including myself.

The way I do remixes is a lot of fun. I have a method of dividing a lot of everything individually. I'm doing the same kind of thing I've done towards Mortal Kombat Komputer.

First, I listen to the original version of a game theme enough times just to memorize at least the main melodies of it. My memory is often really good, but it's always handy to have the original version to listen to. It's nothing too hard, since I've self-taught myself to play stuff by ear over the 10 years of playing music. Though, I at times surprise myself when I find out certain things are harder or easier to produce when I least expect it!

So, after I get original melodies and other original things (bass, chords, whatever) down and edited to the way I love and want them to sound, along the way and after that part's done, I come up with original melodies and things to mix into the track. This would be the experimentation process! I blend certain things to find out how well they sound together before I start making the track itself. For the Mortal Kombat remix, as some of you who check back on this blog frequently may already know, almost everything I put together and planned on in advance made it into the final 1.2 version.

In the last part of making a remix, it's likely I'll come up with some other really neat things while putting the track together.

Mortal Kombat Komputer is 7 minutes and 41 seconds. I didn't think it would be that lengthy, but in the end, it became an excellent masterpiece for a gaming remix debut. There are some really supportive and thoughtful musicians I've come across on NewGrounds, and their tips toward cutting back and varying the drums for 1.2 made such a difference. With that in mind, I'll be looking forward to whatever feedback I get once this new track is complete!

With better luck, I might submit it to OverClocked Remix! They only accept material that are straight from the video games themselves. Mortal Kombat Komputer is a remix of the Techno Syndrome, by The Immortals. One person's remix of that had been taken off and moved to this archive website they've put together... Once I found that out, I decided not to submit it to them. (However, I am considering on allowing the creators of the Mortal Kombat games to check it out! I believe they'll dig it.)

It will be at least a month until the current remix is complete. I got all the original main melody variations I wanted done--two whole variations and a partial third! Soon, more experimenting will commence!

Sometime last year, I was messing around in the middle of a jam session on my VST. I was playing the main melody to the Darius Twin Boss Theme about half a step down in pitch. The synth I've used to play will be featured on this track, and that most excellent jam session inspired me to want to do this project in the first place.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page